Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Quick links


What is this?


The Edit Mode toggle switch allows an instructor to turn Edit Mode on or off for a course. By default, Edit Mode is turned On for instructors. 

When edit mode is turned on, an instructor can see all course content whether it is set to be visible or not. Instructors can also modify their course in this view.
When edit mode is turned off, an instructor will see the course as a student would see it. In this, mode the course can't be edited.


Turning off edit mode is not the same as the Student Preview feature. Student Preview allows you to not only see the course as a student would see it, but it also allows an instructor to test some of the activities in the course as well. If an instructor needs to submit an assignment, take a test, create a blog/journal or view student-specific tools like My Grades, they must use Student Preview.

Why would I use this?


Turning Edit Mode off is a quick way for instructors to see what a Blackboard course looks like to their students.

Who can use this?


Only Instructors who create coursework in Blackboard can switch the Edit mode on or off.

How do I use this?


  1. Open Blackboard and choose the course you want to work with.

  2. Click the Edit Mode button, on the top right of the screen, to toggle Edit Mode On or Off.

Related links


Student Preview Mode _

  • No labels